Skip to content

Pedigree’s Consequential Value Pedigree: Questionable

February 7, 2008

I confuse easily. Ask my wife. Or my boss.But Pedigree–the dog food company–is messing with me. They have a great,croppercapture52.jpg tear-jerker TV commercial that ends with the tag: “When you buy Pedigree Food for Dogs, we make a donation to help dogs find loving homes.” I thought, “All right then, I have something to celebrate on the blog!” But alas, it’s not working out that way.I’ve spent roughly a half-hour navigating the Pedigree website and can’t find out how this promotion works exactly. In fact, it took to the end of the half-hour to finally find the catchy little promise. The website mentions Pedigree’s involvement with dog adoption all over it, but the “donate” button doesn’t even work. Strange.I guess we’re supposed to assume that what Pedigree says on their commercial is what we are supposed to believe.So what is Pedigree’s contribution, and what are we as consumers contributing to dog adoption? 1%? 10 cents a bag? Sorry, I can’t find the answer anywhere. If it’s there, someone respond.Here’s the point of celebrating consequential value: it must involve us consumers–not just send us to a website and let us run around in it for fun.

Million Dog MosaicNow Pedigree has this incredibly cool Million Dog Mosaic that lets you upload a picture of your favorite canine–and Pedigree donates a buck to their foundation–up to $10,000 (1% of a million) Of course, the mosaic now has 10,628 pictures, so the donations have stopped. Sorry, not impressed.

Even Martha Stewart herself bought into all the hype and did a whole show today on dog adoption and gave Pedigree and DogsRule.com all kinds of kudos. Celebrity Apprentice is backing the Pedigree adoption initiatives.But, clearly, Pedigree needs to make sure that its bite is equal to its cute bark–or it will confuse even the sharpest among us.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lia jiannine permalink
    May 22, 2008 8:26 am

    I agree with everything that was said. I believe that pedigree started this campaign in response to all of the people who adopted mutts and refused to buy “pedigree” dog food. However, they will donate up too 100,000 so still upload your picture 🙂

  2. Nancy permalink
    June 14, 2008 6:07 pm

    I have spent the last half hour looking for the donate button as well. In my frustration I feel the guilt to push forward hoping that my donation will feed a few more dogs for a few more days. I try to donate bi-monthly during each pay period. Since I have a small two bedroom duplex and a 60 lb and 80 lb child so donating (instead of fostering) is the best I can do. But..they still need to make the donate button LARGER!

Trackbacks

  1. Some Free Advice for Pedigree « Consequential Value

Leave a comment